top of page

ONE ROOM CHALLENGE | WEEK 4

Fall 2018 ORC inspo

Welcome to Week 4 of the Better Home & Garden One Room Challenge!

Better known as... the week stuff DIDN'T hit the fan.

Hunter Fan Co

Because I haven't installed it yet. Gahhhhhhh... ok, yes! I'm getting nervous now. We made some progress this week and I've started collecting all the little treasures I can't wait to finally display. Little collectables from travels, books and of course Bonsai trees. I just wanna make Mr. Miyagi proud! Channeling my inner Christina-son I got the Great Wave mural up and started on the bedding project. I left the crane kicks for Marvin though...

Getting my zen on

The Murals Your Way "Great Wave" mural went up without a hitch. The thick vinyl material was so easy to work with and was trimmed with a utility knife. How simple is that?! We started in the top left corner of the room and pieced together the gorgeous watercolor wave that is giving this room the POP it needed. Check out the video tutorial via Instagram for supply list, instructions and a little blooper because, duh, I am a walking blooper reel.

A little sneak peek!

Next up on my list was the bedding. The second least favorite chore in my life. I don't know why I hate making the bed so much but I must admit... my new Molecule sheets... they went on like a breeze. And they FEEL LIKE A CLOUD! These sheets are woven with eucalyptus fibers called Lyocell that not only absorb moisture better than cotton alone, they also help keep you cool and dry all night long.

QUESTION: does this make me part koala?

Let's just sleep all day, k?

After getting my yummy sheets on it was time to fluff up that down comforter with the softest duvet I could find. I'm talking old, worn out college t-shirt level soft! I was looking for a worn grey that would be easy to keep clean and pop into the washing machine. Enter WONDERHOME to save the day! I selected the 909 collection in Washed Cotton. It's the most snuggly place to take a nap now. Marvin tested. Christina Approved.

And please don't think I let that angel sleep without a new pillow. Oh no, only the best for my little angel.

Kidding. Those pillows are alllllll mine. Downlite Bedding has the most amazing Cooling Pillows filled with hypoallergenic down alternative. They can be fluffed or flattened to make all your pillow dreams come true. I like it extra fluffy, while Mr. Mesa likes it flatter than a pancake... win/win. The alternative material stays cool for the hot, Florida nights that last all year. I've also got one little DIY project up my sleeve that anyone can do using an inexpensive IKEA blanket. Here's a little hinty-hint. wink wink.

$25 DIY Tassel Throw

I've been studying up on the Japanese aesthetic called "Wabi-Sabi" or the mindset of "imperfect, impermanent and incomplete". I'm doing my best to embrace the process and understand that it doesn't always come together like I thought or it may continue to evolve.

So.... basically even if I don't finish i totally nailed it right!?

Keep it Wabi-Sabi

Don't forget to head on over to the official ONE ROOM CHALLENGE page to check out all of the Featured Designers and Guest Participants like myself! Brace yourself because the inspiration and motivation is MIND BLOWING!!

Rock On,

Christina


bottom of page