top of page

ONE ROOM CHALLENGE || REVEAL THE BANANA PEEL

This room is BANANAS! B-A-N-A-N-A-S! I said, THIS ROOM IS BANANAS! B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

*cue the marching band and mega phones*

Y'all... I made it to the end of another One Room Challenge and I am so excited to invite you all over to play an intense game of phone booth. Kidding. However, I would love to show you all the labor of love we have been working on for the past six weeks. It wouldn't have been possible without some amazing partnerships and the help of Mr. Mesa to do all the heavy lifting.

Mood Board ORC Spring 2018

My entire inspiration for this room centered around a tropical wallpaper but not just any wallpaper... THIS gorgeous watercolor banana leaf wallpaper from Photowall-Sweden.

I hunted for weeks to find another option but every time I scrolled through my camera roll THIS one just tugged at my beach-lovin' heart strings. It's a high quality traditional wallpaper that's adhered with glue and a LOT of patience. Of all the projects in this room, the wallpaper made me the most nervous but it came together beautifully and completely transformed the room.

Botany Banana Wallpaper by Photowall Sweden

I'm 100% certain there will be white paint in my hair for the duration of the week. This ENTIRE ROOM from floor to ceiling got a fresh coat of paint and a scrub down. Twenty years of being a boring beige box are OVER for this little square of the house. The floors got an awesome graphic pattern stenciled on them. The new shiplap wainscoting got a coat of crisp ultra white paint and the ceiling went to the dark side with a coat of Behr "limousine leather" matte paint. It was a bold move that Mr. Mesa (and about 47 of my Instagram buddies) were pretty skeptical about but it's the extra wow factor I was looking for.

When in doubt... PAINT IT BLACK!

These floors forced me to summon all of my zen master skills of patience. Literally the most difficult thing in the world is to wait for paint to dry but it was critical to get the crisp, sharp lines and graphic effect I was looking for in this floor.

Amazing what a little paint can do!

The amazing team at Varaluz sent me this gorgeous light fixture from their new Trini Collection and it is the crown jewel over the vanity! I love how it mimics the triangle pattern from the floors. Its such a sharp contrast to the soft, watercolor palm leaves.

Varaluz Trini Vanity Light

The faucet got lonely and decided to get in on the paint action too... plus a little metallic Rub'n Buff to give it a little pop.

DIY Black buffed faucet

We decided at the last minute that just a piece of artwork above the toilet wasn't enough and wouldn't match the weight of the mirror so we whipped up two little floating shelves from some left over birch wood and 2x4 scraps in the garage. I think the warm wood stain really makes the bananas in the wallpaper pop!

A little place for treasures

So, there's still paint in my hair, caulk on my forearm, sawdust in my shoes, wood stain under my nails and my right hand is covered in gold Rub'n Buff... but we made it across the finish line and I couldn't love it more. Thanks for joining me on my second ONE ROOM CHALLENGE and make sure to go check out the Featured Rooms and Guest Participants that helped me keep my sanity during this crazy train.

Loving the graphic print mixed with tropical vibes

I've got my shelves stocked with bathroom goodies from Mod Bath & Body made by my buddy Jamie. She has an Etsy shop filled to the brim with incredible scented products and the coconut sugar scrub is UNBELIEVABLE! Of course I tucked in a few plants, surf pictures and a Southern Mesa Trading sign!

Tropical Vibes

The piece that pulled the whole room together and really just warms my heart every time I see it is this amazing original photo taken by my dear friend and photographer Kristen from Samba To The Sea. She captured the perfect wave for me! She's got a print shop full of the most amazing sunset and surf photos to make any room a beach getaway!

Hang Five Bruh

Now a little Before and After because that's the BEST PART RIGHT!???

BEFORE

AFTER

BORING BEFORE

BOLD AFTER

Sending out a huge thank you to the team at ONE ROOM CHALLENGE & HOUSE BEAUTIFUL for hosting such an amazing event!

PEACE-

Christina


bottom of page