top of page

ONE ROOM CHALLENGE WEEK 3 || Melamine State of Mind

It's finally getting exciting over at the Mesa Casa this week for the One Room Challenge. We are injecting some modern beach vibes into the wolds most VANILLA bathroom with the help of some incredible Banana Leaf Wallaper and white planked wainscoting paired with industrial lighting and graphic floors.

Moodboard

This week we kicked off with painting the existing vanity a silky, rich black. This house is full of very builder-grade features that I thought I'd be stuck with until I won the Florida lottery but thanks to the bloggers who foraged on before me... I was not going to be stuck with yellowing and gross melamine coated cabinets. I used the same steps from my kitchen One Room Challenge back in Fall 2017 to prime and paint the bathroom cabinet.

Very Vanilla Vanity

First things first, you have to knock the crud off and de-gloss everything. I gave the entire cabinet a good scrub down with degreaser and allowed everything to dry thoroughly. I used a small rag and deglosser to take the sheen off and give the melamine some "grit" so the primer would stick. Make sure you wear gloves because this stuff will take your dang fingerprints off. Once the deglosser had time to work it's magic I wiped everything down with tack cloth to remove any residue and it was time for the party to start!

Deglosser

Hand Painting the Melamine Cabinets

There are still big projects to be finished this week like shiplap boards going up and floors getting a unique finish. Follow along on Instagram for live updates weekly and vote on some of the finishes.

I am so excited to see this all come together and thank you all for following along!

Xoxo,

Christina


bottom of page